The Faculty of Sciences consists of six Departments which comprise several chairs and professorships.

Faculty of Sciences

to be announced

Department of Physics

Institute of Theoretical Physics

Chairs (divisions)
  • Theoretical Physics (Prof. Dr. Sahlmann)
  • Theoretical Physics (Prof. Dr. Giesel)
  • Theoretical Physics (Prof. Dr. Schmidt)
  • Theoretical Physics (N.N)
  • Theoretical Physics (Prof. Dr. Smith)
  • Theoretical Physics (Prof. Dr. Schmiedeberg)
  • Theoretical Physics (Molecular Materials) (Prof. Dr. Hansmann)

Institute of Condensed Matter Physics

Chairs (divisions)
  • Experimental Physics (Prof. Dr. Schneider)
  • Experimental Physics (Scanning Probe Microscopy) (Prof. Dr. Maier)
  • Crystallography and Structural Physics (Prof. Dr. Hock)
  • Crystallography and Structural Physics (Prof. Dr. Neder)
  • Applied Physics (Prof. Dr. Krstić)
  • Biomedical Physics (N.N.)
  • Biomedical Technology (Max Schaldach-Stiftungsprofessur für Biomedizinische Technik) (Prof. Dr. Hensel)
  • Nanomaterials Characterization (Prof. Dr. Unruh)

Institute of Physics

Chairs (divisions)

Institute of Optics, Information and Photonics

Chairs (divisions)
  • Experimental Physics (Prof. Dr. von Zanthier)
  • Experimental Physics (Photonics) (Prof. Dr. Joly)
  • Physics (SAOT) (Prof. Dr. Götzinger)

Astronomical Institute: Dr. Karl Remeis-Sternwarte Bamberg

  • Astronomy and Astrophysics (Prof. Dr. Wilms)
  • Astronomy and Astrophysics (Prof. Dr. Heber)
  • Multiwavelength Astronomy (Prof. Dr. Sasaki)

Biotechnological Development Laboratory (BTE)