Nobel Prize winners

Nobel Prize winners at the Faculty of Sciences

Arthur Harden – Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1929

Sir Arthur Harden was awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1929. The panel awarded Sir Harden and his partner Hans Karl August Simon von Euler-Chelpin the prize for their research on the fermentation of sugar. Harden spent twelve months conducting research in Erlangen from 1887 to 1888.

Eduard Buchner – Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1907

Eduard Buchner received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1907 for his discovery of cell-free fermentation. Buchner completed his doctoral degree under the supervision of Prof. Theodor Curtis at FAU in 1888.

Emil Fischer – Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1902

Nobel Prize winner Hermann Emil Fischer researched and taught at FAU from 1881 to 1888 when he was Professor of Chemistry. The University’s Emil Fischer Centre is named after him. He received many awards for his outstanding research on glucose, carbohydrates, enzymes, proteins and purines. He was awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1902 for his work on the synthesis of glucose and purine.